Vegetarian at College…Now What?

First, let’s go over the types of vegetarianiasm:

This is a relatively new term to describe people who eat mostly vegetarian diets, but do not avoid meat and other animal products at all times.

A person who does not eat meat or other animals except fish and maybe other seafood. This diet is sometimes used as a way to transition into a full fledged vegetarian diet.

Vegetarians are people who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, or shellfish but do eat eggs and dairy products (lacto-ovo vegatarians).


Lacto-vegetarians are vegetarians who do not eat eggs, but do eat dairy products.

Ovo-vegetarians are people who do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs.

Vegans eat no meat, animal products or products containing any animal-derived ingredients such as honey or gelatin. Some vegans choose not to use other manufactured products that come from animals such as leather, sponges or wool.

 

At Prospect Dining Hall, we offer daily vegetarian and vegan items.  Look here for a complete listing: http://www.plymouth.edu/dining/nutrition/vegan/. We also have a vegetarian station that offers daily lunch and dinner specials. And as always, our on campus Registered Dietitian is here to answer individual questions and concerns. Contact Sara Patterson at spatterson3@plymouth.edu or 603-535-3186.

Comments are closed.